Making Baby Food

So I thought I would switch it up a bit and talk about another baby topic, baby food. I know, you all love cloth diapers and trust me I LOVE talking cloth diapers! So much that my husband eyes just automatically glaze over the second I say the word “cloth”. Gerber Baby FoodTo switch it up, I’m going to talk baby food for this post.

Figuring out what to feed babies is not easy. It’s hard. Organic, non-organic, jarred baby food, make it all yourself, make it yourself but use only organic, etc… you get the idea. Throw in the what can they eat what can’t they eat at certain ages and it’s not easy. Plus, this also seems to depend on culture too!

Healthy Baby Meal Planner by Annabel KarmelI’ll be up front, I make Rowan’s food, I try to get organic stuff, but sometimes I just can’t be bothered to drive to the other side of town just in case they happen to have an organic sweet potato. But I do try to buy local when I can. Over the last few months I’ve found some great online resources for recipes and picked up a great book at my local grocery store too. But I never gave it a thought that the book and one site I use a lot is British. What’s the big deal with using a British cookbook? Well…

Some of the recipes call for eggs. Never thought twice about it. I’ve even given Rowan scrambled eggs *everyone can gasp here*. Which he absolutely loves! See, I didn’t think it was a big deal, the recipes (none I’m made yet) that had eggs in them where in his age group food appropriateness category. A couple of weeks ago we had scrambled eggs and he loved them. So I’ve been making them about once a week for him. We go for his late 9 month checkup and I mention that he loves eggs. I thought the nurse’s eyes were going to pop out! Apparently egg whites are a no-no (in Canada at least) until babies are at least a year old. So yolk scrambles only now.

Baby Food

Rowan loving his cream cheese and rice cracker!

I thought I was doing something great. Rowan loved them. But no, I failed on that one! I found myself skulking out of the nurses office. Now should I ask the nurse about liver? It is in the baby cookbook and a good source of iron. But I think I’ll just hold off until he’s a year old on that one.

I would love to hear what you are doing for baby food and if you make it, what are your favourite recipes?

Here’s one of ours, no eggs no liver 😀

Salmon with Carrots and Tomatoes (makes 4 portions – or 1 ice cube tray plus a bit extra)

2 1/2 cups carrot, peeled & sliced (if you use organic, no need to peel)
5oz salmon fillet
1/2 tbsp milk (or enough to cover the salmon)
2 tbsp butter
2 medium, ripe tomatoes, skinned, seeded, chopped
1/2 cheddar cheese, grated

Put the carrots in a steamer set over a pan of boiling water and cook for 15-20 minutes or until tender. Meanwhile place the fish in a microwave dish, add the milk, dot with half the butter, and cover, leaving an air vent. Microwave on high for 1.5 – 2 minutes until cooked. Alternatively, put salmon in a pan, pour over enough milk to just cover, and simmer for about 4 minutes or until cooked.

Melt the remaining butter in a saucepan, add the tomatoes, and saute until softened and slightly mushy. Remove from the heat and stir in the cheese until melted. Blend the cooked carrots with the tomato mixture. Drain the cooking sauce from the fish, remove the skin, and check there are no bones. Flake the fish and mix it with the carrots and tomatoes. For younger babies, you can blend the fish together with the carrots and tomatoes for a smoother texture.

* The Healthy Baby Meal Planner by Annabel Karmel

Leave a Reply

